California’s successful electoral reforms

In 2008 and 2010, California voters went to the ballot box and voted on three electoral reform measures. The reformers won all three ballots.

  • Proposition 11 established the California Citizens Redistricting Commission (CCRC) and gave it the power to draw legislative districts.
  • Proposition 14 established the top-two primary system.
  • Proposition 20 expanded the CCRC’s mandate to include Congressional maps.